Crossover - where to spend the money

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

For the attached crossover where would it be best to focus spend?

I plan to use air core inductors throughout, but would it be best to focus spend on the capacitor to the woofer?

I can't hear much above 11kHz, so therefore I should perhaps use cheaper caps to the tweeter?

Attachments

• Crossover details.jpg
    Crossover details.jpg
    111.9 KB · Views: 773
Last edited:
Thanks fatmarley - sorry I'm a newbie to this - why is it best to spend the money on the tweeter caps?

The design is not my own, the crossover details where purchased, so I've anonymised the drivers used etc... This is a high end 2 way, Scanspeak Revelator Tweeter and AudioTechnology Midwoofer.

Hi Stretchneck,

as you describe your planned system as high end - whatever this is - and as you´re using quite good drivers, you should also invest in at least decent crossover elements.
Generally speaking, elements in line to the drivers are considered more important than elements in parallel, but of course there are several opinions about that.

A more practical hint: if I would do a combination like this, I would invest in decent caps in line to the tweeter, Jantzen Superior-Z or Mundorf Supreme Evo Oil, and Jantzen Cross Cap or Mundorf Evo Oil parallel to the woofer. Decent Resistors are MOX from many manufacturers.
The R of the coil in series to the woofer is most probably part of the alignment, so don´t go for a larger AWG. If you can afford it, a foil air core coil is regarded as very good and is available from many suppliers as well. The coil parallel to the tweeter is as well defined in your plan, this is a small unexpensive air core coil, no need to change anything here. Vacuum-treated or baked coils cost a little more and are for sure no fault.