Crossover for floorspeaker based on Paul Carmody's ZX Spectrum

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi to all!
I'm new to the forum and also i'm new to diy speakers :)

My project starts from Paul Carmody's ZX Spectrum/Amiga, a floorspeaker 102cm height, 21.7 wide and 29.3 depth with HiVi M6N woofer and Monacor DT-300+waveguide WG-300. I choose this tweeter with his waveguide because i found it at a really good price and it seemed to me good for crossing with M6N at 2kHz.
Vent is 5cm diameter (length will be probably between 8.9-3.5" as in Paul's project for a F3 of 42Hz).

This is the cabinet sketch:

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

I added a close part at the bottom to have the speakers a little bit higher: here i will put the crossover.

I need some help for the crossover because i found the specs of the DT-300 tweeter but i can't find the specs of DT-300+ the waveguide WG-300. I found only some data about SPL increment:

Hz / dB Increment
600 / +4,5
1.000 / +5
1.500 / +8
2.000 / +8
3.000 / +7
4.000 / +5
8.000 / +2
10.000 / +0

The waveguide will improve response of the tweeter at lower frequencies, probably facilitating the crossover with the woofer but i don't want the tweeter to be too loud...

This is the graph of the DT-300 without WG-300:

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Anyone could please help me designing the correct crossover?

Many thanks!

Mmmhhm it's not so easy. I see that in Carmody's design the crossover is at around 1.8 kHz, same as yours. I would keep the same lowpass ( 3 mH+(100 nF)+15 uF ) for the hi-vi and try different values for the 3rd order filter on the tweteer. The 3 mH coil is wrong, 0.3 is right. Or you can start with 1st order filter, as the waveguide might be more "friendly" with 6 dB slopes and so 1, 1.5 and 2.2 uF might be just right