• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Convert PP Mono amp to SE stereo

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Chris Hornbeck: Thanks for the reply, and no need to apologize. I asked because it hasn't been on my radar at all until you mentioned it. When you say "With a good solid 50 Hy or more (with current) primary", to what are you referring? The output transformer? Sorry if this is a dumb question, I'm a noob in most respects....

Hi fellow nightowl. Yes, the output transformer's primary inductance appears as a parasitic inductor in parallel with the "ideal" transformer itself, so forms a high-pass filter with the output valve's "plate resistance" in parallel with the reflected load impedance. Unavoidable, but worse for an amplifier with loop feedback because the inductance varies significantly with signal level, so shifting a significant contribution to the open loop magnitude and phase response with signal level.

Messy stuff and fortunately not so much an issue with an open loop amplifier. I suspect that this factor is about 90% of the current popularity of SET's. It's just harder to get them wrong. And almost everybody gets loop feedback amplifiers somewhat wrong.

But even an open loop amplifier gets challenged by the falling and reactive load that the parasitic inductor makes at lower frequencies. That's life in the fast lane, but we can minimize the output valve's stress by rolling off any low frequencies that we can't use anyway. All engineering is made of compromises.

All good fortune,
Chris