compression driver cut off points using active dsp avoiding damage

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
When assesing manufacture data of drivers regards recomended crossover points, they usualy ascertain/recomend a certain point.

Now if those recomendations are using a specific octave re 6db 12db butterworth linkz reily, how does one translate this?

hope this makes sense i am still learning

the steeper the slope the lower you can go but to what point? and how does wattage figure into this.

Take the jbl 2426 compression driver as a ballpark

800hz or higher 12db/octave slope minimum

power capacity 70w continuos program above 800hz
....................100w ...................................1.2KHZ

Frequency range 500hz .....-20'000hz

JBL link

https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjLmtObyPDKAhUBkg8KHW_MAosQFggdMAA&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.jblpro.com%2Fpages%2Fcomponents%2Fcmp_drvs.htm&usg=AFQjCNF1UWb-9yjGvaJFfr9W226Dh_tADg

so how low can i go at what wattage and db spl

Last edited:
When assesing manufacture data of drivers regards recomended crossover points, they usualy ascertain/recomend a certain point.

Now if those recomendations are using a specific octave re 6db 12db butterworth linkz reily, how does one translate this?

hope this makes sense i am still learning

the steeper the slope the lower you can go but to what point? and how does wattage figure into this.

Take the jbl 2426 compression driver as a ballpark

800hz or higher 12db/octave slope minimum

power capacity 70w continuos program above 800hz
....................100w ...................................1.2KHZ

Frequency range 500hz .....-20'000hz

JBL link