Car Stereo Toolbox Construction Radio/Ghetto Blaster Project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I'm interested in suggestions for building a toolbox "ghetto blaster".

Post got a little long, sorry.

I'm an electrician and work construction. I've been seeing a lot of portable radios lately from Dewalt, Milwuakee Etc, which run off AC/ or their power tool rechargable batteries.

The battery power is great because many times we don't have power available, or have to stretch out a couple hundred feet of cord to get it, not worth crawling through the mud just for tunes when you're only gonna be on the job for an hour or two.

Great idea, but ive seen many damaged, they're not very dust proof and most sound like crap, and Ive only seen one made by bosch that has a CD player.

So I 'm gonna try to build a car deck and some nice door speakers into a tool box. Either an ABS toolbox off the shelf or possibly custom build one out of sheet metal, maybe diamond plate depending on weight.

Should be more durable, definitely more resistant to dust and debris, have some storage space for cd's MP3 player, etc. and will surely sound better. Plus I can build in Some external GFI recepticles into it and cigarette lighter outlet like the bosch.

So I figured before I got ahead of myself that someone's had to have done portable car decks in boxes before and would have some good ideas.
I've searched all over the web and haven't really seen anything like it.
I know I'm not the first guy to come up with something like this so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I'm thinking of using smaller 12 volt sealed lead acid batteries and am still researching a recharging/power supply solution.

I'd like it to be able to run for at least 8 hours without being recharged, but will have AC power the majority of the time.

Now if I can just keep it under 20 lbs.

Thanks,

Bob

diyAudio Editor