• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Building custom tube amp from scratch

Howdy! I'm new to the diyAudio forum, and I wanted some advice on building myself a general-purpose audio amplifier. I intend to use it with microphones, guitars, radios, etc.
The tubes I plan to use with this are the 12BA6 pentode as a driver, and the 35C5 pentode as a power output tube. I was going to pull a transformer from some old power supply to use as the output transformer. Any tips?

Snapshot_20240525_3 2.JPG

Snapshot_20240525 2.JPG

Snapshot_20240525_2 2.JPG

Snapshot_20240525_1 2.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:
Your photo at the bottom right seems to be a portion of the power supply...Our protocol in this forum is to adhere to a policy of safety, this portion of the power supply is WITHOUT a transformer coming off the mains, and is unacceptable in design. Such older designs were rather unsafe & made for electrocutions long ago in common use...it seems a simple isolation transformer integrated into your schematic will work here.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Rick...

Reactions: 1 user