Building a 5V and 12V regulated power supply (using LT3045) with NiMH / Li Ion battery for DAC and 12V PreAmp

Hi, I am thinking to use this LT3045 board (LT3045 Dual Channel Positive Voltage DC Power Supply Low Noise High Precision Linear Stabilizer Upgrade DAC - AliExpress) to build regulated power supply with batteries.

Target usage:

5v DAC (powered by USB type C, 3W max) by using one LT3045 board with parallel output
12v Tube preamp (should be less than 1A) by using another LT3045 board with parallel output

Before go ahead, I would like to seek some advices here. I hope you can share your valuable advice as I am pretty new to DIY hifi stuffs. :)

Questions:

1. Does it make sense to you at all for the target usage?
2. Which battery type is better (i.e. having lower noise)? NiMH or Li ion?
3. Can NiMH provide enough current for LT3045?
4. For 5V output, what would be the ideal DC input voltage?
5. For 12V output, what would be the ideal DC input voltage?
6. Any linear regulaor that is bette than LT3045 for my target usages?

Thanks a lot for your advice.

TNT

Joined 2003
Paid Member
The Ampere rating is often at the board's lowest voltage. What matters is how much power is drawn... P=U*I but not every often specified.... and how many volts are dropped over the regulator - also missing in specs... all this adds to losses = heat. Input voltage extra compared to out need to be so high (> 0,3V?) that the regulator can do a really good job (> 1V) but not too high (< 2V) as it increases losses.

1) DAC 3W=5V*0,6A - 0,3A/LT: OK, 12W=12V*1A - 0,5A/LT a little to much I think. Both are near the limit - not a really ideal situation.

I dont think this is a good idea. The regulators are so good that you dont need any batteries - a really good SMPS that has perhaps some passive filtering or even a course regulator to get to the ideal voltage for the final ones is a much better alternative from many perspectives.

2) Doesn't matter really here