Brand new JBC tip stripped?

Hello,

Up front I must mention I'm new to the whole "direct heating" soldering irons business. Being on a budget and after some research I settled on a chinese JBC station knock-off compatible with JBC T245 hardware with the intent of using genuine JBC tips.

Ordered this tip on aliexpress at a good price with the reason for the discount being it comes in a older style of packaging. Tip seems genuine, package is sealed, looks good but when trying to tin it for the first time a substantial area of the tip won't tin and the plating seems to be chipped (see pics).

IMG_1565.JPG

IMG_1566.JPG

Tinning was done using 63/37 tin/lead solder and without external flux. Tried "tip refresher" stuff on it without success. Wet sponge, brass whool, nothing works. To me this seems like a bad tip, the non-plated parts won't take solder at all so most of the tip surface is useless.

So before I ask for a refund, I wanted to validate with more knowledgeable people if this chipping is indeed a defect or the result of a mishandling on my part. But all I did is simply trying to tin the tip, hardly seems like bad handling...

Thanks in advance for any insights,
Joris

Last edited:
An update for reference if anyone experiences the same troubles as me on aliexpress. The seller first answer to the dispute was to refuse the refund. Incredible behavior for a so-called authorized JBC dealer given the detailed pictures I submitted to support my claim (the pictures in the opening post above).

Of course I refused that "solution", and the seller didn't respond back. The dispute is transferred to aliexpress itself when an agreement is not reached after a pre-determined delay (5 days); aliexpress then approved the refund. As of now I have not received the refund per se but if there are further problems I will report back here.