• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

advice needed for Huey-inspired 6V6PP amp

Hi all,

I’m looking for some advice on my first Hifi tube amp build. I’ve built several guitar tube amps already, so at least I know how to use the soldering iron, but I have no experience with low-THD audio builds, yet. Btw, I have learnt a lot from many discussions in this forum even though I have not participated actively until now. It's really a great resource!

I have looked into the various lowish power push-pull designs in the DIY community as for example, the Baby Huey, El Cheapo, Bevois Valley, ST-35 etc. I like the elegance of the Baby Huey but as I want to use 6V6 tubes, I don’t know if this will work? So I need your help here.

I have the iron already:
  • Edcor PT with secondaries for 300 - 0 - 300V @ 200mA, 6.3V @ 4A and 5V @3A.
  • Piemme Electra OTs, 25W Raa of 10k and UL taps at 35%.
  • I have a quad of EHX 6V6GTs and a bunch of 12AX7, 12AT7s, 12AU7s, ECC99 and 6N1P which are available to use.

I’ve read most of the topic on the Baby Huey and also on other amps and did many LTSPice simulations. I have mostly settled on the Baby Huey scheme using fixed bias 6V6es, 12AX7 driver and source followers in between. For simplicity I would like to avoid the need for additional +56 or -48V supplies as used in some of the more recent Baby Huey schematics. I don’t have these windings on my PT and don’t want to include an extra additional transformer if possible. The Bias supply I plan to rectify from the HT winding as is done in many guitar amplifiers.

Here are my questions:

- Can I run the source followers from a filtered HT supply, with the source resistor going to ground instead of a negative supply? Would LND150 MOSFETs work? (As per the attached schematic?)