Advice for/questions from a complete noob to amplifier DIY.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys.

I am currently doing a lot of trolling and reading regarding DIY audio.

My main interest is in diy loudspeakers. I ultimately intend to build three way speakers and probably augment these with subwoofers at a later date. My main inspiration for these is Troels Gravens Jensen 1071 and the Focal designs that use separate boxes for the tweet, mid and woofers. I would like deep, full bass that is tight and fast, powerful and accurate mids and sweet highs (wouldn't we all?). I would probably use scanspeak revealator drivers throughout (as Troels design but with the revealator ring radiator tweeters) but know that changing any aspect of the design will affect the crossover (something which I don't have the ability to design myself in passive format). They will be made using the cnc translaminate method.

As I am currently on a limited budget and realise that throwing a huge wad of money at a project when you are just starting out is foolish, I am first going to build a similar design with more traditional boxes and using the Peerless CSX-176H (800122) mids, Scanspeak 2905/9000 (sticky dome) tweeters and the odds and sods I already have (things like speaker wire, binding posts etc). This leaves me needing woofers, which will probably be the Peerless SLS-263 as they are cheap and seem like good drivers for the job.

To get over both the cost and the immense difficulty of building passive cross-overs for such a design, I want to use two minidsp modules in 4-way advanced crossover configuration. This leads me into needing 6 channels of power amplification - hence this (seemingly rambling!) post......