Acoustic lens on a full-range?

Has anyone tried to affix one of those beautiful JBL type slotted lens in front of a full-ranger?
The horrific beaming at high frequencies seems to be the perpetual Achilles heel that holds us full-rangers back from greatness. No doubt the careful expansion rates within horns really "makes" those lens' work as well as they do....& the gaps & the expansion inconsistencies just might make the whole thing "fall apart".
Has anyone got any ideas?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------Rick....

Attachments

• acoustic_lens_2.jpg
    acoustic_lens_2.jpg
    90.8 KB · Views: 1,612
Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
I'm not an expert, but I used JBL 2308 lenses on both 2391 (with 2420 driver) and 2392 (with 2440 driver) and the lens would have to be designed to operate over the full range of the driver.

The 2308 for example is a small lens and not intended for operation at low frequencies, as the frequency goes down it starts to loose control of the vertical dispersion. You'd need a pretty big one to maintain control down to 100Hz or so..

Personally I didn't think they sounded bad, but the technology for directivity control has progressed quite a bit since that time.

Attachments

• 2301-2390-2391-2392-2395_manual_optimize.pdf
    457.2 KB · Views: 316
Has anyone tried to affix one of those beautiful JBL type slotted lens in front of a full-ranger?
The horrific beaming at high frequencies seems to be the perpetual Achilles heel that holds us full-rangers back from greatness. No doubt the careful expansion rates within horns really "makes" those lens' work as well as they do....& the gaps & the expansion inconsistencies just might make the whole thing "fall apart".
Has anyone got any ideas?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------Rick....