• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

A VCCS tube amp, how?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm interested in designing an tube amp for ESL. After reading some theory, I've found out that in order to get flat frequency response, you have to use current drive. So I began to search for a way to design a VCCS tube amp.

I'm a relative newbie in electronics and can't yet think in detail efficiently, only on level of several standard circuits, maybe somewhat better. So the problem is, I haven't found a good, or at least, well explained way to make suck an amp.

What i've found, is that VCCS comes in two ways - an inherently VCCS design, or a feedback - controlled one. I'm more intrested in the first approach, as from what i've heard, current-controlling feedback is hard to harness and tune, but i'd be glad if someone would have some idea based on it.

One of the problems is that transistors seem to be out of the question entirely, due to really high voltages involved. The first (and only, as I've discovered the need for VCCS amp only recently) idea i've got was to simlpy load a tube's anode with a current source, and derive signal from anode, but it didn't seem to work as I thought.

Thanks for help in advance.

I know it's dangerous, I don't have intent to do it asap, I dust want to design it, and then, when i'll have enough experience, i'll try to make it.

Besides, a VCCS amp for fullrange panel isn't going to be very powerful, high impedance at low frequencies must limit is maximum current swing.

This is definitely a dangerous project to undertake.