7.1 digital speaker idea

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I learned about this whole DIY audio thing only about a month or so ago, so I am very new to the idea and the problems that present themselves in the process. However, in the last month I have done a lot of research on the topic and think that I have come up with an overall layout for an interesting system. Because I’m so new to it though, I would appreciate any additional ideas, criticisms, or information that helps me refine the idea (or completely reject it if it really isn’t that great of an idea). I was trying to come up with an ideal system, but due to money and time constraints (still in college), this is a more long term project. I would like to plan everything out in the mean time though.

The idea is for a pc based 7.1 system that is digital all the way up the actual speaker. This includes a digital crossover. Theoretically, this should eliminate interference in the transmission, allow for per speaker equalization, allow for driver sensitivity matching, have a more accurate crossover, and also have all of the benefits of being computer controlled. I am planning to use 3 way speakers. The down side to this approach is that a lot of DACs and a lot of Amps are used. Also, there might be problems with jitter than need to be worked out.

These are my current thoughts on the various parts of the layout. The numbers correspond to the labels on the included diagram.

There are several different possibilities for the sound card interface:
Custom USB interface
  • Needs to be USB 2.0 because 8 channels * 24 bits * 192 kHz = about 40 Mbit/s or 5 MB/s and USB 1.1 only supports 12 Mbit/s.
  • Needs to support the USB audio class so that I don’t have to try to write a driver.
  • This approach seems a little bit complicated.
8 channel AES/MADI/ADTA interface
  • Would need to support 8 channels at 192 kHz.