• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

6CM5 MKII

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys, a newbie here
I have just built one of Grant Wills 6CM5 Stereo amp using the M1120 transformers (my only other build was Grant's Lamington). Grant was a great help when I was stumped by something. On first power up I got a horrible shriek but had read somewhere to reverse the OPT secondary leads. All was good and its sounds fantastic!. but:rolleyes:
I'm trying to get a better bass response and have just ordered some EDCOR CXPP25-MS-8K OPT's with a EDCOR XPWR039-120/240 mains tranny which outputs 110V x 2 @250mA and 6.3v x 2@4A. I will use Grant's original design for B+ with a voltage doubler. I have also discovered that the 6N2P valves are almost identical to the 12AX7 apart from slightly lower gain and only 6V heaters. I have just ordered 8 from Russia (only $20!) and was wondering if any of you guru's can forsee any problems I may encounter i.e using 6N2P for PI, 250mA not enough to run everything etc . Why isn't everybody using these cheaper valves?
Any advise would be greatly appreciated ! :)

Attachments

• Amp.JPG
    Amp.JPG
    671.2 KB · Views: 285
The valves are not commonly used because their not plug and play compatible whit the 12AX7.

However. if you where to use a toggle switch it would be possible to build an amplifier that will accept both the tube types.

A problem you might encounter, is that the 6n2p heater consumes 300mA more current.

Take care.
V4lve.

Last edited:
Hi guys,