~100+ watts mono board without on/off thump?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey folks, do you know what full-range (40hz-18k at least) board I should buy?
I'm looking for mono 100-120 watts Class D.
Cannot have any on/off thump like my 60W mono board has.
Or a stereo board that can be bridged to 100+ watts.

Or bonus points if you can find me a Bluetooth board with built in amp that can be bridged mono. :)

Will be using a 21 volt LiPo battery pack.

I'm okay buying from China but would prefer a supplier stateside.

Joined 2011
Oh dangit. Thank you.
Do you know of an online calculator for me to figure this out?
I'm not too good with the math behind it.

Vsupply / 2.818 = Vrmsmax (maximum rms voltage output, single ended amp )

Vrmsmax x Vrmsmax / Rspeaker = POWERmax (single ended amp)

Multiply POWERmax by 4, if the amplifier has bridged outputs (since the output voltage is doubled)

Also there's the question of how long the battery can last powering the amplifier.

Last edited:
Vsupply / 2.818 = Vrmsmax

Vrmsmax x Vrmsmax / Rspeaker = POWERmax

Multiply POWERmax by 4, if the amplifier has bridged outputs

Okay, I think most stereo boards out there are already bridged internally to provide the stereo output?
So am I correct in interpreting your calculations?

Vsupply = 21V LiPo battery pack
Rspeaker = 4 ohm speaker

So...

21 / 2.818 = 7.45

7.45 x 7.45 / 4 = 13.88

13.88 x 4 = 55 watts

Is that correct?
If so, thank you.
It's very helpful!

I'm looking for a board but thanks. I can Google the TDA7498 chip to find one that doesn't have on/off thump.

Thank you so much!

The battery only needs to last a couple hours at medium-high volume.
It's five 18650 LiPo batteries.

Assuming those batteries are somewhat standard in capacity, they will be approx 2250mAh. ( 2.25 Ah )

They should therefore be capable of supplying 750 mA ( .75 Amps) for three hours.