Audio Innovations Series 500 problems - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th October 2004, 10:54 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Unhappy Audio Innovations Series 500 problems

Hi

I've an old Audio Innovations Series 500 that seems to have gone wrong. I've replaced the four EL84s and three ECC83s and am waiting to get my hands on a pair of ecc88s to complete the valve upgrade programme.

However, I was surprised to find that replacing the 84s had no effect as I'd previously thought that they were shot. I'm wondering if there is some other failed component inside it. I have the schematics but I'm not very experienced with tube amps - just love the sound - and would like to ask if there's anything in particular I should check first. I read somewhere that a particular capacitor goes and that leads to tube failure but cannot remember the details..

Symptoms are as follows:
  • Humming (well it's allways done that a little bit, I guess there is a bad earth in there somewhere).
    Very very low output which distorts if you turn the volume up all the way, but stays quiet.
    Phono stage is dead quiet, no output at all.

I guess the first thing would be to test the output from the tape loop. This will provide some indicator for the phono stage.

Can anyone suggest the sorts of things I should look for? What typically fails in these amps? I can post the schematics if it would help.

Thanks

JonB
Old 30th October 2004, 12:12 PM   #2
SY is offline SY  United States
diyAudio Moderator

If the company is out of business and there's no copyright issues, the schematics would help immensely.
Old 30th October 2004, 12:28 PM   #3
diyAudio Member