• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

#26 pre amp

The best is still a visit to a piano bar....a ticket to a live jazz concert....chamber music....etc...etc....etc

None of these DIY projects can replace enjoyments you can get from the above ......but a few can make you happier in between.

Amen! I'm a musician and there's nothing like playing live gigs. I used to do a lot of piano bars.

But I get a lot of kicks out of writing songs in Garageband with house beats and elaborate string arrangements!

andyjevans, I saw the link you posted in the last post, saying to email ale for the 01A information. I found this link on his site :
01a Preamp Gen2: Build Complete – Bartola Valves
Would this be the best design to build/is this going to be the same thing he sends to me in the email?

That link is fine. When you ask Ale for the Gyrator, ask for the latest version which uses IXTP08N100D as the top device and BSH111BK as the lower device. These replace DN25440 top and BF862 lower, which are also really good. I wouldn't worry if you use those - I do.

Gyrator FET options (More!) – Bartola Valves

I can live with some solid state components for the moment, I can always take them out later if I get too neurotic about it. It seems that both the coleman regulators and the gyrator take DC voltage. I'm probably going to keep the gyrator HT voltage regulated with a tube, and maybe tube rectified, as it's easier for me to design that way. How clean does each supply need to be? I see on the schematic that the regulator needs 15V in, I'm probably going to design that around a 12.6V secondary, and just rectify and smooth it. Does anybody have some good links to power supplies?

Joined 2004
Paid Member