Wanted. Simple EL34 Push Pull Design - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th November 2008, 06:35 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Wanted. Simple EL34 Push Pull Design

Hi All

Looking for a simple EL34 Push pull design. I have spent hours searching the net (and this forum) but not yet found anything suitable.

Background is that in late 1992 I purchased a kit to make a directly coupled hybrid transister valve amp. This was featured in Sep 1992 edition of ETI (Electronics Today International) and was designed by a Jeff Macaulay. A kit was available for what was then GBP 170 (at lot of money to me at the time when I was a poor student).

I do not understand more than the the basics of electrical theory but am able to follow a schematic and completed the kit without difficulty. The result was disappointing to say the least. Later additions of the magazine slated the design but following the suggested modifications of other readers I was able to get it working and was reasonably happy with the sound quality. I followed this kit with a Maplin valve pre-amp and the two have served me well all the years in-between. Recently the amp has stopped working due to a fault in the power supply and I have decided that if I go to the trouble of fixing it I would also like to rebuild it to a better design re-using the EL34s and the output tranformers and the rebuilt power supply.

The design uses two EL34s per channel in push/pull configeration but the output transformers do not have ultralinear taps (?triode mode).