Sound Quality Vs. Measurements

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

@dvv If two files have the same checksum (digital (binary) copy, not a reencoded dvd),
then they _are_ 100% identical. There is no way around that fact.

I have encountered binary files that passed the "checksum" test (even extended checksum algorithms as found in Binary Usenet Posts [only legal downloads of course]) and still where corrupt nevertheless. It does not happen often, but it does happen. Unless you do a full direct binary compare you cannot claim the files are identical.

Ciao T

Trust your ears, DVV, they are the final judge, not theory or measurement.

That's EXACTLY what I've been doing for the 20+ years, John. Measurements are fine, and I do like to see them and make them, but in the end, it's my ears which get the last word.

Somebody suggested I used one setup to make the copies, and another for playback - true, I did, and in all cases. I ripped off on my PC, made all copies on my PC, and played them back on dedicated CD players and a BD/DVD playback machine.

So what?

According to some of you, this shuld not matter one least bit (pun intended), because it's all so perfecttly same, so if the original plays without a hirch, so should the copies.

Regarding the state of my lasers, gentlemen, I do maintain my equipment all the way down to my cars. Feel free to drop in and check this out anytime you please. The cops can inspect either one of my cars anytime, they are technically roadworthy at any time, anywhere.

The same goes for my audio. All lasers are cleaned every six months, because I live in a very dusty neighbourhood and don't want to see or hear any skipping or uncertainties in any of it. I actually clean my RCA cinch sockets and plugs every three months with medicinal alcohol and cotton swabs. I am heavily into the regular maintenance trip.