Cabinet Building Technique of the Fanatics

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
20 x 20 x 20 inch cube, 2 inch wall (2 layers MDF), 6th order Bandpass with passive radiator.

Attachments

• sub1.jpg
    sub1.jpg
    30.2 KB · Views: 1,261
Disabled Account
Joined 2007
Nice idea Mike. I have been reading this forum for a few years now and I have to giggle sometimes at some of the construction advise offered.
I am a licensed journeyman carpenter by trade, so it's fair to say that I am a reliable source.

Tools: I am spoiled, I have everything.:) With that said, you don't need much to get excellent results. If you lack tools and the skill to use them, keep your project simple.Plan your project carefully. Prepare a cut list - this will be the size of all of the sides, top and bottom of your box. Take the list to your lumberyard (Homedepot, etc.) have them cut the parts. Measure the parts before you leave to make sure they are the right size. The worst is over!
You should have some basic hand tools such as hammer, saw , drill + common size bits, screwdrivers and clamps - big ones, as in big enough to clamp acroos the box. A jigsaw in a must( maybe you could borrow one) and if you want to get fancy, a router. Routers and router bits are expensive though and strictly speaking, you can make it without it.

Screws: Save yourself some grief - don't use drywall screws. They are brittle and the head can break off while driving them. Buy the best screws you can find, usually the ones for screwing down floors are very strong. Use #8 or #10 2 inches long if you are going through 3/4 inch stock into a solid wood corner brace. Don't use too many as they may split or weaken the material you are driving them into. Do not overtighten as they may break, and always drill a pilot hole.