NAD 3020i MJ15003/MJ15004 replace MJ2995/2N3055

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Now that the thermistor mystery is (hopefully) solved it’s time for replacement transistors for the faulty 2N3055/MJ2955.

I’ve read loads of threads about alternative transistors and the MJ15003/MJ15004 combo comes up quite a lot. There doesn’t seem to be much follow up comments form people who have used them.

Anyone have any comments on the use of these for a 3020i? I realise these aren't a direct replacement and voltages will be different and heatsink may be inadequate...

By now you’ve maybe guessed I’m new to all this but every day is a school day :)

The MJ15003/04 pair is a more than adequate, even beefier, replacement for MJ2955/2N3055. Never tried this in a NAD 3020, though, but my experiences with them in the EQUA amplifier by Elektor are fine.

Heatsinking won't present any problems afterwards. As Rth j/c is lower for the MJ15xxx's, their dies will stay cooler at the same dissipated power and on the same sinks.

Best regards!

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
0.22 is a typical value, 0.33 or 0.47 play safer. 3 watt rating is plenty for an amp like this.

As with any 'mod', you are changing the original design and so you could find that the bias generator would perhaps overcompensate for heating (meaning the bias current falls when hot) which is perhaps no bad thing tbh.

If the original outputs have failed then I would also consider replacing the two drivers and also the VAS (voltage amplifier) that feeds the drivers. MJE340/350 come to mind given the supply voltages used.

Ha, ha! This is growing arms and legs now - it's going to turn in to a complete overhaul! :)

Also read about adding base resistors. I'd rather just see if it fires up at all before going any further...

p.s resistors just fell through the door - they're huge compared to what I've used in the past :)

Last edited: