Class A Mosfet Amplifier and PS

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

This is my first project built without a kit, and my fourth ever.

Here is the link: http://diyaudioprojects.com/Solid/ZCA/index.htm

I'll attach the amp schematic on this post, and the power supply schematic on the next one. The above web site has been unavailable at times the last few days.

I would be grateful for any answers or advice.

--One resistance is shown as 15R/40W, could I use four 60 Ohm, 10W resistors connected in parallel here?

--Where the wattages of the resistors are not specified, does it matter, or would a half or quarter watt be ok?

--What voltage should the capacitors be, or does it not matter?

--How important is it to match the exact capacitance on the schematic, is it ok to go a little higher or lower?

--Is it ok to connect smaller caps in parallel to get larger cap values?

Attachments

• sch_zca.png
    sch_zca.png
    4.3 KB · Views: 7,028
Here is the Power Supply schematic.

--Same questions about the caps, would it be ok for example to replace the low ESR 450uF cap with a low ESR 470uF?

--And do the cap voltages matter?

--What specs to I look for in a transformer for this power supply?

Thanks

Attachments

• zcaps.png
    zcaps.png
    2.7 KB · Views: 5,877
hi Kinnja

before you decide on this design, are you aware this thing outputs somewhere between 5-10 watts of power? That means you need really efficent speakers to get the best out this amp.

"--One resistance is shown as 15R/40W, could I use four 60 Ohm, 10W resistors connected in parallel here?"
yes

"--Where the wattages of the resistors are not specified, does it matter, or would a half or quarter watt be ok?"
The schematic says to use 0.5 watt reistors unless marked.

"--What voltage should the capacitors be, or does it not matter?"
The rails are 24 volts, so if you use 35V or more all should be well.