Comments on PCM1794A DAC design

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Finally! I've designed the boards for the DIR9001 -> SRC4192 -> PCM1794A DACs I started on i this thread, but being a self-taught and inexperienced designer, I'd love some input on the design.

First - power supplies and decoupling.
Every supply starts off with a separate secondary - C - LM317 - C - (wire to board) - R - C - REG113 - C - R - C - chip. All caps are Panasonic FC bypassed with a 100 nF 0805 X7R, larger ones to start off with and 82 uF closest to the chip. The two cap banks after the REG113 also have a 100 nF MKP1837 film cap. I know it's totally overkill, specially considering the awesome REG113, but I'm wondering if that has any other adverse effects than board space and part cost.

Second - PCB layout.
Decoupling caps are as close to the chips as possible, which in some cases means putting the 0805 cap underneath the board. I've made sectioned ground planes that connect under each chip, or under the last R for the onboard power supplies. All other routing is done by my fantastic logic and uncommon sense (unfortunately not education nor experience), while trying to keep the top ground plane as unbroken as possible, with a bunch of vias.

I've skipped the input transformers, as these DACs will only be fed balanced AES/EBU from the already transformer coupled output of a Lynx AES16 sound card.

Output from PCM1794 in mono mode goes to an LC Audio Zapfilter and into a Twisted Pear JoshuaTree relay attenuator.

Hours of reading and a decent sense of logic has done me well in the past, but not necessarily so in a complex design like this. I'd really love it if some of you could look through the design and give me some pointers before I ship it off to the board house.

Attachments

• board.png
    board.png
    126.1 KB · Views: 1,795
  • sch_dac.png
    sch_dac.png
    23.7 KB · Views: 1,778
  • sch_psu.png