M-Audio Audiophile 192 & Windows 8

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been using this card for quite a few years now, and I've started running into some major issues with the stability of the drivers. I have another audio card I use for multimedia and gaming, but the Audiophile is what I use to drive my big speakers (through a 150W receiver)

Here's the (current) hardware setup:
ASRock z77 Extreme6/TB4
i7-3770k
32GB 1600mhz DDR3
2x EVGA GTX 970 SC ACX 2.0
M-Audio Delta Audiophile 192
ASUS Xonar DX (running UNi Drivers)

Here's a little history of the symptoms:

WinXP: no issues

Win7 x64: When putting system to sleep and waking back up, or in some circumstances when quitting out of a game or program that intensively used the card, the audio will stop completely. No volume indicator in the Sound Mixer, no audio comes out. Disabling and re-enabling the card fixes the issue so not a major problem. Was using 6.02 drivers

Win8 x64: Same as above

Win8 x64 after adding 2nd GFX card and moving the Audiophile from PCI2 to PCI1: Drivers install correctly, audio tests out fine, run a program and at some point the audio will loop a 2-5ms wave basically making a klaxon like sound until the driver is disabled. When driver is re-enabled, once any sound is played, the same thing happens. Only solution is to completely uninstall and delete the drivers, and re-install. I get almost identical behavior from 6.02, 6.08, and the old WinXP 5.14 drivers (though the WinXP ones are more stable). A further symptom is that when putting the system to sleep, it hangs, never goes to sleep, and eventually powers OFF, requiring a full reboot.