F5 power amplifier

I've always had good luck with sil-pads, good heat transfer, easy to use and inexpensive. No complaints here.

I replaced the rectifier bridge in my Acurus A200 with an RFB02 board with discrete components. I used MUR6030s with 2 ohm resistors and 100nf caps.
The difference in sound was noticable and immediate.
Was that due to the snubbers? I don't know.

I have used the same recifier boards with my F5 build. I couldn't be happier with the subjective performance.

I was looking at using Mur3020 ....................

I want to share some more impressions for the f5.

As I said I use large skins, so after many hours the temperature stays to about 40oC, so after reading I started playing with the bias...

0.60v >>> 40oC >>> 65oC (mosfet)
0.71v >>> 43oC >>> 80oC (mosfet after 30min)

Seems like Hags and I are in the minority with the sil-pad. My result when increasing the bias:

1.5v/.91=1.65A : 65C heatsink : 75C mosfet @1hr

In theory the sil-pad should be more effective than mica/goo or Al-Oxide pads/goo, but your actual mileage may vary.

Seems like Hags and I are in the minority with the sil-pad. My result when increasing the bias:

1.5v/.91=1.65A : 65C heatsink : 75C mosfet @1hr

In theory the sil-pad should be more effective than mica/goo or Al-Oxide pads/goo, but your actual mileage may vary.

I don't know about theory but I can tell you I got a little more heat transfer using the sil-pads than the alu-oxide with grease.

Like I said, if I had the sil-pads on hand at the time I would've used them. I didn't so I went with the alu-oxide.

Both work well IMO, I think the sil-pads work slightly better and I like to work with them more so than the grease.

There is a "mica and goo" thread somewhere here on the pass labs forum by papa, where he sums up his findings. AFAIK the result was that sil-pads were fine if the surface was flat, but mica and goo was better if there was surface was not perfect.