System Pictures & Description

Hey guys,

Love all these designs on here, this forum has been a great source of information in regards to speaker design and creation.

I've played around with speakers a little over the years but nothing too serious, but recently I had a go at creating a set of 3-way speakers that fit my room a little better than the polk audio tsi-500's I had brought when I was flatting in a much larger room.

The project has to be one of the hardest things I have made, mainly because the lack of tools and some of the cuts I wanted to do.

Now as much as I studied do's and dont's on here I believe there are probably a few things people on here will scream at but I had the design nestled in my head and me being more of an artist chose looks over functionality, tho in saying this I am extremely happy with the sound out of these.

All the drivers are cheap random brands such as response and skytronics, proper drivers seem to be marked up a fair bit here in NZ so I couldn't afford the high end drivers seen on here but they do the job fine.

So it's a 3-way system with a passive crossover at 1200 and 5400, the bass driver is a response 8inch paper woofer which is in a 44L ported enclosure with the port firing down. The midrange is a 5.25inch sealed midrange, hence I have not made and enclosure for them and the tweeter is a 1inch titanium dome tweeter(also response).

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

They are really a lovely pair of speakers! Kudos to you. I can imagine they sound very open and airy.
When you save your coin up a bit, I would change the jaycar electrolytic caps in the crossover to some nice metal film caps, and the inductors to copper foil. It really makes a big difference.
Apart from that you have done a superb job on them.

How did you make the waveguide for the tweeter with limited tools?