Ultimate Open Baffle Gallery

My Lil' Buddy on OB is coming along nicely. Alpha 15 below. I am experimenting with compression tweeters and horns. This is a pretty innexpensive option using a Pyle PSD442 and the aluminum Selenium horn. It sounds great crossed at 1600Hz. I like it just fine. I also have the B&C DE250 everyone loves... it's a great tweeter.

Attachments

• IMG_3688.JPG
    IMG_3688.JPG
    643.1 KB · Views: 2,465
Well, not nice.
But interesting, yes.
I am a newbie in DIY, and I want to eksperiment with more home made coax.
Need some better tweeters, and I want AE Dipole 15" to play with. Have to grow some money then.

The bass is good, and dont need more work. 12×12" GPA 414 in slot loaded open baffle.
I did mot build them. Some other smart guy in the same city I live in.

GPA 414 is a complete waste of money as slot loaded subwoofer
i would use one per side for mid bass duty (instead of the AE)
sell the rest and refill the SLOB with cheaper PA drivers
$$$ wise

Here's my prototype OB using the Z-Frame (KaZba) that xrk971 was working on in another thread - although I didn't use the Karlson wings that he used. I thought it sounded better without them. So far I've only measured the woofers (attached).

Two GRS 12PF woofers
Eminence Alpha 8A
Selenium D220Ti tweeter
PRV Audio WG35-25-B waveguide (I also tried the Pyle PH612)
Zilch/Jackgiff Econowave x/o for the Alpha 8A and D220Ti

Attachments

• P1070639.jpg
    P1070639.jpg
    228.8 KB · Views: 2,374
  • P1070637.jpg
    P1070637.jpg
    216 KB · Views: 816
  • P1070631.jpg
    P1070631.jpg
    255.7 KB · Views: 752
  • P1070635.jpg
    P1070635.jpg
    285.3 KB · Views: 733
  • P1070630.jpg
    P1070630.jpg
    235.9 KB · Views: 682
  • LoSens XO Schematic A.jpg
    LoSens XO Schematic A.jpg
    36.2 KB · Views: 722
  • grs12pf_zframe_dist.png
    grs12pf_zframe_dist.png
    19.2 KB · Views: 524