DAC 2496 (AK4393) DAC KIT With CS8416+AK4393+5532

Hello all,

finally i got my Dac kit already soldered shipped form singapore.
It seems that pin 27 and 28 from the AK4396 chip are connected together via a small spot of solder.

Now before using the dac and applying the BOM, i wonder if this happenend maybe accidentally by the supplier.

I had the same question a few months ago. All the pre soldered boards come that way and function as they should.

hi clave.
1. i'm going to attempt this board with assistance from my father!
which would you recommend more 4393 or 4396?
2. been meaning to give it a go for some time and have your bom etc. not sure if it's the final one, could you provide links again please - can't find it in search.
3. does the shunt make much difference at all? only, being a novice noob, i'm guessing i'll be content with the sound without the shunt.

many thanks

have BOM now, only really question 1. needs answering if possible, cheers

My transformer only has single 9v output....is it OK to have that driving two bridge rectifiers (the 7809, and the 5v salas) ?

9VA AC for feeding a 5V Salas shunt reg will work, but 12VAC, rectified around 15VDC is better, giving 10V of dropout voltage. I've tried both, and will not go back to the three legs reg for the AK4396 VA. Separate transformers or separate transformer outputs is recommended to isolate analog supply from noisy digital rail.

Hello all,
I have build one DAC with AK4396 and orginal parts over one year ego. It´s souds good.
So, now I want build one DAC with parts like in the BOM, but without the CS8416.
I have a DSP with a I2S output and this can I connected direct on the input of the AK4396.
I have only one problem: In the BOM isn´t specified the "L1" and "L2".
Can everyone write me what parts can I use?

Thanks,
Norbert

hi clave (or who ever can help), sorry to trouble you. i have shown the bom and all images to my dad and have a query. did search for it, but nothing obvious jumping out.