Learning the basics of speaker cabinet design - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Construction Tips

Construction Tips Construction techniques and tips

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd March 2012, 10:46 AM   #1
RoboJ1M is offline RoboJ1M  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Learning the basics of speaker cabinet design

Hi,

My names Jim and I'm just starting to learn the basics of speaker cabinet design.

Our first project is a man portable PA built into a British army bergen (rucksack)

I'm trying to get my head around calculating the dimensions of an ordinary sealed cabinet.

The drivers we will be using are here (PDF), because they're cheap, cheerful but come with a set of thiele small numbers.

I've used a calculator I found here (web page)
That worries me though because it's completely black box and is named as a designer for subwoofer enclosures. I don't know whether the maths is different for full range speakers.

Anyway, the bag minus batteries and amp leaves us with about 50liters of space for the cabinet.

Now, putting the numbers into that calculator get me a Qtc of 1.

So far I've read that you're supposed to aim for 0.707 but 0.5 to 1.2 is a usable range.

Unfortunately I don't have all the measurements and dimensions to hand, but I keep not getting round to making this post so I'm just taking the plunge.

Sound quality is not top priority in this project, it's just slightly behind:

1) Cost, apart from the fact nobody has much cash to throw around, the Mark 1 Noisy Bag is intended to be followed by more refined designs so we don't want to spend too much on something that will probably be just the first attempt.

2) Just Getting It Done. Seriously, we've been procrastinating for about 2 years now. It's time to get the hammers out.