Guidance for a 'beginner'

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All

This is my first post :) For the past year I have been working on a project. A small part of this was the amplifier. In this case it was a TDA2003 which preforms perfectly for the design it is a part of. I am now working on a bridged version, well more like thats finished :D, Which has proved more of a challenge. One circuit design I used off the net didn't work but I got there in the end and have 8W at the disposal for the original circuit. So as I went through all this I found this site and a lot of stuff going on based on the 'gainclone' amplifiers. Right I am getting to the point now :D . I am a builder of electronics not a designer and there is much I don't understand and probably never will. I just like soldering things up and trouble shooting if they don't work, thankfully, so far so good! But I have always fancied making my own audio amp (for music) and speakers. I am now in a position where I can, albeit slowly, achieve this teenage dream (I'm now 40 :( ) So I've looked around at all the clever stuff you chaps have done and I would like to build something. Can you point me in the direction I need? I can etch my own PCB's so something with a freely available pattern would be good.