Schade Common Gate (SCG) Preamp

swak,

I have no experience with any other TOKIN devices or the Schaded mosfets.

I would tend to think all TOKIN devices would have far more in common than differences. Zen Mod, who has extensive experience with both approaches, says the Schade Mosfet (which i assume is what you are calling a simulated SIT) is different more than less good.

I know I like the idea of the choke loading of TDV and the MOFO amplifiers. I have found, in my case, having the choke by itself in the circuit without any additional resistance makes for a better amplifier. I got lucky in my case - I also am not obsessed with all four amplifiers having the same dissipation.

I am using MEH speakers with efficient drivers but after active EQ much of that sensitivity is erased since no one wants a broad 10 dB rise in the midrange. Whatever the speaker I think having as much power as possible is better than trying to get by with a few watts. As you surmise no crossover components between the amplifier and the speakers - each driver has its own TDV.

Rahul's designs are easy to assemble but do require tweaking of components which has the advantage of one getting to know the amplifier on an intimate basis.

Reactions: 1 user

ra7

Joined 2009
Paid Member
Here's a new schematic with JFETs. This is an LTSpice schematic, not a PCB schematic. So there will likely be revisions to current and voltage setpoints and maybe some component values based on actual devices and parameter spread. I have ordered large quantities of JFETs to test what the spread is, especially for the J111. If you are interested in revising your existing preamp, it can be done. Read on.

The key revisions and rationale are as follows:
1. JFET input and gain device. I am showing a J74 here for the input, but J175 is likely to be the final choice.