Need opinon. Vintage Altec 604 or Jenzen-Illuminator

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone!

First post on this wonderful forum, so be gentle! I'm a newbie audiophile (won't even call myself one). I've been toying with the idea of building my own tube amps and speakers for years, and well...... one day you wake up and there is no better time than now.

I have a KT-88 tube amp with gold lion tubes and they are powering a set of System Audio floor standers. I find that I have reached the limit of the speakers and they are not truly bringing out the best of the amp. I don't have an enclosed room, and I listen to jazz (mostly vocals and trumpets) the whole day...... joys of working from home.

So, before I jump in and build a 300B, I want to build a pair of speakers that will make the amp worth building. Naturally, cost is an issue, so I've narrowed my choice down to the Jenzen Illuminator or Jenzen Next. However, a friend who I regard as a true audiophile is trying to convince me to get a vintage Altec 604 and if I really wanted to, I could just build the cabinet for those. I think the price will work out to be the same. In an ideal world I would just buy a pair of Westminsters and call it a day....

I have no background in electronics/ electricals/ audio. But buying the altecs and butchering them for the driver and crossover seems like cheating to me. But then, the Jenzens are going to be a mystery until they are built, and of course will not have any resale value (although selling the speakers will probably not happen as I'll rather give them away to a relative).

So, all advise needed so I can move forward to the fun part without going "what if" the whole day!

Thanks,
Sean