I am surrprised not to see more of you designing high end car amps.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I would think that you guys would find this to be a great challenge for yourselves. I would love to see you guys come up with a cool class A amp for the car like the one made by TRU audio.

http://www.trutechnology.com/main.htm

These guys are even working on a true tube amp for the car.

Is the reason that most of you don't design stuff for cars because it's so hard? I am not an engineer but I know that car amps take a lot work to sound good.

it's to do with the PSU for a car amp...say if you were to build a Class A amp for a car, because of the SMPSU you have to invest a lot in filtering and stuff, and a SMPSU by itself is not an easy thing to build...add in the battery and alternator as another variable...you get the idea, basically in a car, you would want to have high effiicency, ok maybe in extreme cases you don't, so probably a class D amp for the subs, only class A or A/B amps for the mids and highs. As far as I know, with car subwoofers (that are themselves already inefficient) there's no real point into using Class A amps for them...

DJNUBZ said:
I would think that you guys would find this to be a great challenge for yourselves. I would love to see you guys come up with a cool class A amp for the car like the one made by TRU audio.

http://www.trutechnology.com/main.htm

These guys are even working on a true tube amp for the car.

Is the reason that most of you don't design stuff for cars because it's so hard? I am not an engineer but I know that car amps take a lot work to sound good.
I'm not sure why anyone would bother. A car is a crap environment acoustically and most speakers and installations aren't anywhere near the resolution of home stuff, so it'd be much harder to tell the difference.