Hum&Buzz problems DIY CE pre-amp

Hi everybody,

I am a musician and I want to start building some pedal effects, pre-amplifier, filters and so on. Just for hobby :)
My target is to learn starting from descrete components (I think it is the most basic level, isn't it?), so my first project is to build a simple pre-amp using a transistor in a CE set-up.

I was experiecing some buzz/hum problems with my CE amp. Since I want to learn, I attach a detail report and two recordered audio instead of write here.
At the end of the report there are my questions :)

I hope this is the right way to explain to the comunity my troubles and I hope this will be helpful to somebody.

Thank you

Andrea

Attachments

• Report Test.zip
    4.9 MB · Views: 43
Looks like radio frequency ( RF ) pickup . Try putting a 1K resistor in series with the input and directly after put a 470pF capacitor to ground to form an RF filter with an approximate turnover frequency of 338 KHz .

PS just read your info in more detail . I had missed the point where you say plugging the pickup directly into the Focusrite also gives hum/buzz . Maybe there is also an earthing issue .

Last edited:
Thank you epicyclic.

One important note: my pickup is a Shadow SH330 which is a SINGLE COIL pickup. Maybe, it picks 50Hz hum from electrical house circuit.
I suppose this because:
  • if I move around there are some points where the hum lower a lot (never svanish anyway)
  • I tried to build the second stage of my project using an emitter-follower amp...and it actually works! I can hear sound from my guitar using headphone. I powered-on the circuit (CE-CC cascade) with a 9V battery. The hum remains, and again if I move around the hum level change.

I think that I cannot do anything with a single coil :(

Howerer, I have two other questions if I do not bore you...
1. If I use a battery, I do not have a ground, right? I mean, the 0V battery is my reference, but I don't have any proper ground. Is it correct?