High loop Gain Composite Op Amp Circuits

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
None the less, it's educational to explore the limits and I would like to understand this better.
Maybe your data will help, are you at UCSD?

Yes, I'm at UCSD. My focus is way over in the biomedical/materials end of the spectrum, so my circuit skills and controls theory are years old and relatively untested, nor was I particularly clever even then. Which is probably why I ask such sophomoric questions. :)

Definitely here to learn; actual circuit results are a bonus. Will go have a look at Horowitz's work on QFT (thanks for the reference!) and dig deeper into my old textbooks on control theory while I get a few test circuits built for these TDA's I have to dig deeper.

Thanks,
Daniel

most of the QFT, Robust design stuff happened after I graduated - Kharitonov's theorem hadn't been published in English

and I suspect it still isn't common EE undergrad fare - maybe in a Control specific concentration

Robust Control - The Parametric Approach shows Kharitonov in action

Classical Feedback Control does Classical Frequency Domain a bit differently than usual, has worthwhile insights - see the online chaper 4 for loop gain shaping

and its really only those already interested that care in diyAudio - not all of our design gurus display much mastery of even the basics of feedback theory you would expect a undergrad EE to have as a minimum required class

and you can probably do good enough to be audibly transparent with very basic feedback theory in audio power amps if you start with much faster devices than the power chip amps

Last edited:
Thanks, JCX, for the links.

My younger brother's ME curriculum had much, much more control theory than my EE degree did, but that might have had more to do with my focus. Neither here nor there now, nonetheless.