• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

HF-85 Rebuild advice

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Well Anatech has reminded me that my original 1959 vintage Eico HF-85 preamp is running on borrowed time. I'm wondering which components I should be replacing and with what? I have heard that component selection is critical on this pre-amp to maintain the original sound..

I have also heard that the original carbon resistors are critical to the sound.. so if that is true (is it?) can I leave those? Should I measure them and see if they are in tolerance?

Which cap types can stay?

As you can tell I am a beginner.. so please try and respond so a beginner can understand.

The current condition of the unit is a very small amount of hum and amout 50mv of DC if I remember right.. it sounds great but lacks in detail a little..

thanks in advance for any advice you can offer.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Attachments

• comp hf85.gif
    comp hf85.gif
    64.4 KB · Views: 440
I have 2 of these. One thing I recommend to do asap is to replace the power cord with a 3 prong cord. Both zapped me ocasionally :) Also, try using the tape out as pre out, this has less gain but more natural and less distorted sound. In my experience, the coupling caps changed the sound more than the resistors. If you want to maintain the "original" sound, then try retaining as much original components as possible; however, most of the original components are likely drift off the tolerance .....