• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

First Try on Tube Preamp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Ok this is my first try for tube preamp, your opinion on the circuit will be highly appreciated.

Below is my operating point for 12AU7 twin triode connected in parallel:

Plate Voltage = 185V
Plate Current = 7.75mA
Grid Voltage = - 6V

Thanks in advance....:) :) :)

Attachments

• 12au7preamp.gif
    12au7preamp.gif
    4.5 KB · Views: 1,402
Hi s2kov,

Yes, your working point is o.k.

if you want less distortion try 15k at anode
and 200 at cathode. You still have 5V peak to peak before
saturation. Gain will increase of 1.8 db. But output res will rise from 2.5k to 3.2k OHm.
Speaking about output res it seems quite high.
I will consider the use of an output buffer or of an SRPP stage.

...by using a 180 ohm resistor and a 47ufd capacitor on each cathode...

if res and caps as to be put at each cathode (advisable thing) the value of res has to be doubled and the value of caps halved to retain the original characteristic.

Bye
Federico

Hi Federico,

Thanks for the help! Actually, operating point for each section of triode tube, Rp is 15K and Rk is 744 ohm. Since the design is connected both halves in parallel, Plate current will become 15.5mA (7.75mA + 7.75mA) thus, Rp = 7.5K and Rk = 372 ohm

Is it right?

How did you get 200 ohm for cathode resistor?

Regards,

Andy

diyAudio Senior Member
Joined 2002
Hi,

How I wish I have a schematic

Nothing special about it....
I don't know why it's said to sound so good, I suppose it all depends on what you're used to.