Dacmagic1 after upgrade. Some advice please.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I recently upgraded a dacmagic1, replacing the below items. I was wondering if someone would be able to take a look at what i have replaced so far.

Im new to modifying audio, and would really appreciate some feedback as to where i may have gone wrong, and, or, where i may improve on what i have done to date.

The 2 opa2604ap opamps were replaced with lm4562na into 8 pin gold plated sockets.

All caps were replaced with same values. As follows:

14x 100uf 10v Vishay OS-CON organic polymer capacitors for to replace the existing electrolytics

10x 3300 uf 25v Panasonic FC to replace the existing smoothing electrolytics.

4 x nichichon FG to replace the existing 47uf 16v on the opamps

6 x nichicon KW 2200uf 16v caps

10 x nichicon KT caps 10uf 35v

I have heard a difference after the mods, But before i go any further i would like to make sure there are no problems with what i have done to date. I do feel it sounds a bit harsh at times, and the bottom end sounds a bit wooly. I wonder if i have introduced an issue somewhere with the oscons, or opamp change, or elsewhere.

I was considering buying a scope, but don't have much experience using one, not sure if it would be a waste of time and money at this stage.

Could post some pics of the mods done if it would help

Thanks

Try some extra 0.1uF decoupling on each OpAmps power rails. Pin 4 to GND and pin 8 to GND.

Thanks sonic, very helpful.

What type of decoupling caps would you recommend?

Was also thinking of trying some other opamps, first to see if maybe it is just the lm4562's i don't like. possibly even retrying the original opa2604's as they actually sounded sweeter. With a much larger stereo image, much tighter bottom end as well. Maybe try a few others as well while I'm at it.