Claire's Alpair 7.3 + Helper Woofer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
G'day all.

I recently had a close female friend hand me $600 cash and say "Please build me some speakers!!".
Good on her I thought. So, time for a design, which is were you guys come in.

Requirements / Ideas :
- Slim baffle for the that chic look. ( Needs to be High FFAF (Female Friend Acceptance Factor) Design)
- Large Woofers (10 > 12"). She loves bass and big woofers.
- Side mounted Woofer to keep the front slim.
- Easy crossover, I'm not too experienced with that aspect, hence the A7.3

Drivers :
- Alpair 7.3 - Sealed 5 > 7 Liter Chamber - $200 a pair
- 12" Woofers - About 100 Liters to play with. - $400 a pair.

I found these SB woofers locally for $189 each. So about 400 for the pair delivered. The sensitivity looks good and they seem to sim well in a 90L sealed cab with an F3 around 35Hz. Looks like a vented cab would need a lot more volume for this driver. I am open to any better suited suggestions.

SB Acoustics SB34NRX75-6 Woofer 12

I can get Peerless and Vifa locally if anybody thinks they might work better.

I would really appreciate some help on this one. Feel free to point it out if I am heading in the wrong direction. Absolute sound quality is not the name of the game here, just something that plays most stuff well.

I figure an extra $200 > $300 on the cabs/crossover parts ( I have a few) and finishing, which she has said yes to.

I know there has been quite a few similar designs but figured this could be a build log and a place for me to ask questions.

Rough Sketchup Model attached - Notes:
- Baffle is angled back 5 degrees, can / may change.
- Height can change but don't want to make it much deeper.
- Yes, I will be adding bracing to the woofer section

Cheers all.
Dean

Attachments

• ClairesSpeaker-v3-Cropped.jpg
    ClairesSpeaker-v3-Cropped.jpg
    68.1 KB · Views: 624