Big narrow sub under the bed

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This was the rough box layout for the one I had in mind for under my sofa saving material and footprint by combining walls of two enclosure sand ports.

Attachments

• IMG_9409.jpg
    IMG_9409.jpg
    461.5 KB · Views: 164
Thanks graham, that's a fine looking sub.
However your last drawing is basically two subs with double volume? Or am I missing something here..
I am still learning modeling software and so far it only pre-calculates tke length or diameter of the vent, so I have to learn to specify both parameters and see what I get. Is there another way to do that by changing box parameters?

Also, I understand that a standard port inverts a phase of sound wave, so in result you get a half-period delayed wave summed with actual wave, so the sound should be not as "accurate". But you probably don't need "accurate" at 30Hz.

What a very large vent does I have no idea. Probably same thing as adding insane weights on to passive radiator, which lowers overall Fs? Reading continues...

Bought myself a single Reckhorn D-165 and a couple of passive radiators. Just because it's so cheap and close by (also cheap delivery).

Their prices are so damn good. Also took a car speaker set to replace my awful tinny-muddy WRX speakers.
Also could not resist on the body transducer:
shop.reckhorn.net - BS-200 Body shaker for home, car audio, games and therapy
I don't expect much, but I have never played with these before. I wonder if it could be attached in a car somewhere to add some lows. They say it can be mounted under the seat, but I could not find any public builds.
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

I haven't done it before, but in theory, I'd go with these ideas combined:

My two 6.5s are in sealed 0.5 QTC boxes and with room gain get fairly low.