• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

6p14p(EL84) SE with 6n6p build jurnal

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Ok so i got my hands on a few russians:
-4x 6p14p
-1x 6n6p
-1x 6n2p-ev

I'm new to this field. I do not have much experience with electronics so i will need some help.

First step is obvious....chosing a schematic:

Right now i have my eye on this schematic( triode/pentode operating mode)

bfi1242998933e.gif

I welcome any sugestion about this schematic or other schematics.

I linked someone to that schematic a couple of weeks ago, and it wasn't greeted with much enthusiasm by the regulars on this forum. The schematic is most likely a guitar amp offering high gain...and high distortion.

Alternatives that are much better sounding (apparently; I haven't built either) can be found here:
Simple EL84 poweramp/integrated (push pull, which is no problem since you have 4 6p14p's)
http://www.decware.com/se84cschematic.pdf (single ended triode mode; less power, more expensive output transformer, but I'd prefer to build this one myself)

Well i can get a ton more 6p14p's...but i'm gonna stick to a SE for the moment. PP will be my next project :D.
I will read more about the zen project.
Look at this one also. It's made by a guy from my country...and it seems that he knows a few thing about tube amps :p....but looks hard to build...

Attachments

• Schema_ADEVARATA SE EL84.GIF
    Schema_ADEVARATA SE EL84.GIF
    71.4 KB · Views: 1,869