3886 Ebay kit Build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
It's getting hard for me to keep track of my progress with 2 or 3 other threads going on this project so i decided to move it all into one.

This is a kit I puchased online for just over $30.00 usd. and the transformer is one i already had. I don't have alot of money to dump into this "side project" at this time due to another new member of my family will arrive soon and I am also in the process of purchasing a home. I will try my best at giving out the most accurate info I can along with pictures to help visually. There are several people here that have helped and are in the process of helping me understand certain circuits.

If I can get this correct and really enjoy my end results I might move on to a bigger, more challenging project down the road. Untill then, please bear with me as I am completely new to all of this.

The first picture is the kit I have...The second picture is all the components I have gathered and scavenged from other sources.

Attachments

• Gainclone Project 012.jpg
    Gainclone Project 012.jpg
    423.5 KB · Views: 5,288
  • Gainclone Project 008.jpg
    Gainclone Project 008.jpg
    469.3 KB · Views: 4,983
This is the enclosure I have chosen for this project. It is an old Power acoustick LT980/2 car amp I have had collecting dust for several years. I like the general finned look it had so I decided to sacrifice it for a "greater good"

Good thing is that it was working when i put it away the last time so maybe i can carefully canabalize the board for parts in another project.

As you can see I have cut it down with a band saw at work to clean things up a little. I have also drilled,tapped and added spiked feet from a salvaged display stand ready for the dump. I am currently in the process of bending and making a one piece bottom and end plates from 1/8" acrylic.

Attachments