12 Watt amp, guidance required

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, this is my first post on your fine forum. I am pretty much a total newbie as far as building my own amps, so excuse my ignorance in advance. I am currently building a 12 watt solid state amp from a book designed by Randy Slone. I have built the amp as according to the schematic (or so I think I did) and am using a 24 V 2 amp transformer with rectifier and 1000uF smoothing capacitor. The loudspeaker I'm using is a 4 ohm car speaker. When I plug in the circuit there is static with a pulsing noise in the background, this is with no input source. Once I plug in a source, all I can hear is a horrible noise, that I can only describe as clipping, as best I can tell it is clipping at about a 1 Hz period. There is no audible music. I have swapped out all the transistors, in case there was a bad part. This had no effect. I checked all of the resistors, and some were a bit off, but within their specified tolerance. I don't know what to look for here, and would appreciate any advice. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• 12wattamp 002.jpg
    12wattamp 002.jpg
    262.5 KB · Views: 878
48VA (24Vac & 2Aac) is a very small transformer for a power amplifier.

The pic shows an AC coupled single supply push pull amplifier.
The bias to the input transistor is provided by the pair of 22k resistors and the 10uF allows deep bass to be passed through. All acceptable so far.
Now look at the currents through the LTP.
If 600mVbe is across the VAS transistor then that defines the LTP current in the left (+IN) half of the LTP.
The 56k defines the total tail current through the LTP.
What is the current through the -IN half of the LTP? Big problem !!!!