• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

New To Forum - First Post

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello group. Great forum you have here. Lots of expertise, information and interesting projects.

I enjoy playing with my hotrod and stereo system (not home theater). I'm a retro kind of guy who makes a living working with state of the art technology (IT) and plays with vintage technology. Can't say I'm an expert in either, but I get by.

I'm currently building a pair of tube monoblocks. Hope to have them running next week. They're based on Dynaco Mark III trannys and all of the electronics are from Curcio Audio Engineering (Premium Upgrade driver board, power supply, and cap board). They have aftermarket chassises that I had powdercoated. The tranny bells are gold plated. And, I've spent weeks building the bases.

I've enjoyed reading the posts. However, most are way over my head.

Don

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

That's some seriously pretty stuff.

Curcio has done some excellent circuits; I have one of his ST-70s running the system in my garage. Understanding this stuff isn't too hard- read some basic books (I find myself continually recommending Morgan Jones's "Valve Amplifiers"), get some basic tools (voltmeters, signal generator, oscilloscope), and start experimenting. Expect some smoke, expect to hit some dead ends, expect to ask for help now and again. That's OK, that's what we're all here for.

Hey there Hipo!