• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

why most hifi amplifiers use a large dropping resistor just before the 1st stage

Hello. I am trying to build a hifi amp from scratch, and when I studied the tube hifi schematics, I found most, if not all, use a large dropping resistor (B+) right before the 1st input gainstage. The values are about 47k to 68k, while closer to the transformer it is more between 4k to 10k.

Thank you.

Normally the voltage for a ouput stage is higher than the dirver stage.
The driver stage has a low current so the use of a high value resistor has two purpose, one to drop the voltage to the value from project, then create a R-C filter taht kill the ripple that is an enemy for the gain stage.
The phase splitter normaly use a higher voltage and more curren than input stage , with a medium value and a cap you reach the right value and create a R_C filter.
So the input stage normally has two R-C filter, one from phase splitter and one it is own filter.

In some cases there is a secondary winding of the supply trafo dedicated to the gain stage and phase splitter stage but the concept is the same.

Walter

Hello. I am trying to build a hifi amp from scratch, and when I studied the tube hifi schematics, I found most, if not all, use a large dropping resistor (B+) right before the 1st input gainstage. The values are about 47k to 68k, while closer to the transformer it is more between 4k to 10k.

Thank you.

I do it on SS amps too.
I had an old Maplin design which hummed a bit.
So used RC decoupling of front end and hum went away.

Valves are sensitive to noise on power rails, especially if front end has a lot of gain. I tend to use CRC power supplies with power stage off first C and front end off second C.