• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

PP PL36 Amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi I am pretty new to tube power amps, but since I really wanted to know how they can sound, I built one after some research. I like the idea of cheap and plentiful television tubes so I chose the pl36 as the power tube. The heaters are powered by a meanwell 48v smps, RF filtered with an additional choke and a cap.

Tom Schlangen has made the triode curves of the ef184 as well the ones from the el36 available and since the ef184 is cheap as well and seems a good tube for the task of driving the pl36, I use it. I need all the gain possible from the ef184 tube, so the "gyrator" from bartola valves as an anode load seemed a good idea. The 10M45 is the LTP current sink. I use two 1:1 10k pikatron input transformers, they are from some professional studio equipment and high quality, so I figured they won't hurt the signal but give me a balanced input and will help with a balanced signal flow all the way through the amp.