• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Hammond interstage

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi
I am driving 2A3 with D3a (as triode) RC coupled and the result is good
I bought a pair of hammond interstage transformers 126B to try difference than RC coupling
I try them with EC8010 triode and have bad sound! Something like losing frequensies...
Did I make something wrong?
Should I try them with different tube?

Hammond Mfg. - Audio - Tube Driver Transformer - (124 - 126 Series)

Last edited:
OK - I have some experience here:

1. Swap the secondary leads. The treble should come back again. It needs to be wired up right.

2. Try it out as a plate choke, with teflon FT-3 coupling caps. I use 0.1uF followed by 100K grid leak.

I prefer it as a plate choke where it's a great choice. You shouldn't have any treble issues there.

Last edited:
OK - I have some experience here:

1. Swap the secondary leads. The treble should come back again. It needs to be wired up right.

2. Try it out as a plate choke, with teflon FT-3 coupling caps. I use 0.1uF followed by 100K grid leak.

I prefer it as a plate choke where it's a great choice. You shouldn't have any treble issues there.

Thanks Andy
I'll try tomorrow and tell you the result

Thanks Andy
I'll try tomorrow and tell you the result