DIY Car Repair

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Can anyone suggest a good DIY Car Repair forum out there? I was hoping to find a site as good as this one, well organized and packed with people who know what they are talking about. Thus far, my search has yeilded nothing.

I have a 1995 Buick LeSabre with an Airbag light that will not go out. The SDM (airbag computer) is mounted under the passenger seat, and the interior got rather wet some time ago. I know how to disarm the system and all, but I still fear doing any real work on it without talking in depth to someone about it.

Why am I attempting such a repair on a car myself? Well, because I am a poor college student. None of the mechanics shops will even touch an airbag, they tell you to call the dealer. The dealer wants $80/hour, and refuses to give me an time estimate, a cost for a diagnostic, or the cost of what a new module is. This is why I refuse to take cars to the dealership to get them repaired.

A SDM out of a salvage yard will cost me somewhere between $100 and $400. But I do not want to install one unless I have a better idea of what I am doing. At this point, because of the cost and risks invovled, I am just going to live with the light and hope I do not hit anything. LOL

Thanks in advance for any advice anyone can offer as to where to look for answers to such a question.

-C

Not only are mechanics too expensive, most are not that bright. This is what I always do...