Dual 18 Eminence Kilomax BR enclosure

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello

I am currently working on m first subwoofer design. I am new to designing speakers, but pretty experienced in all other areas of audio.

Here are my requirements.

-50-100hz useful output (trying to keep the -10db point above 40hz)
-12-13cuft box maximum size
-Sticking with Eminence drivers
-Over 130db output
-Double 18 BR design. I have built horns in the past, but never really fully understood the mathematics behind them. I am trying to build some Bass reflex cabs that I fully understand (if that makes any sense!)

I have simmed all of the high power Eminence 18in drivers in WINISD, and it looks to me like the Kilomax 18 has the highest output at maximum power. I have selected a 12cuft box tuned to 45hz. Here are the plots I am getting. My understanding is that this box has a signifcant amount of gain front the port, as the box is tubned to 45hz. Are there disadvantages to this, other than a lumpy frequency response? Port distortion? etc. I am planning on shooting for a port 1st resonance frequency of around 500hz. Will it sound like ***? :D

I am open to other box/driver suggestions, but I really want to stick with Eminence drivers. Thanks!

I can also send over the winisd file if that would be helpful :)

Attachments

• 1.png
    1.png
    144.8 KB · Views: 144
  • 2.png
    2.png
    144.1 KB · Views: 136
  • 3.png
    3.png
    114.3 KB · Views: 128
Last edited:
I have simmed all of the high power Eminence 18in drivers in WINISD, and it looks to me like the Kilomax 18 has the highest output at maximum power.