I'd like some pointer on an idea for a 12" sub - Morel or ScanSpeak

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

First of all: let me start by telling you all that I have little to no experience in loudspeaker design and building. I know a few things about the theory and I have a pair of good ears, but no practical experience. I have a 10" subwoofer, but I'd like something bigger and beefier. What I think I want is very expensive when bought in a store, so I thought I'd check the DIY route. I have a plan (several, actually), but I'm not sure which will work best. I'd like some insights from experienced builders.

My current Adam Sub10 mkII does fine with music, although I'd like some more extension. I get 25Hz, but only just. I had to seal the sub to get it to intergrate well, but it's efficiency in the range where I need it most (sub 40Hz), is really low because of that. It manages 75dB at ca 25Hz before distorting like mad. So movies a bit louder than usual, is a problem.

I'd like a sub that works best with music: quick, deep extension, low distortion, high headroom. HT-use is of equal importance, but I prefer accuracy over grunt. Since my current sub sounds okay but really can't keep up with my Dynaudio Special 25's with movies, something with more power, headroom and extension is very welcome.

I'm looking at two drivers, both have good specs, as far as I can tell. They are the Morel UW1258 and the ScanSpeak 32W4878T00. Both suited for subwoofer duty, I believe. I've run a few simulations in WinISD, but I'm not sure how to relate them to real-world results.